dbt Cloud

tap-dbt from meltanolabs

Analytics Engineering Platform

The tap-dbt extractor pulls data from dbt Cloud that can then be sent to a destination using a loader.

Getting Started

Prerequisites

If you haven't already, follow the initial steps of the Getting Started guide:

  1. Install Meltano
  2. Create your Meltano project

Installation and configuration

  1. Add the tap-dbt extractor to your project using
    meltano add
    :
  2. meltano add extractor tap-dbt
  3. Configure the tap-dbt settings using
    meltano config
    :
  4. meltano config tap-dbt set --interactive
  5. Test that extractor settings are valid using
    meltano config
    :
  6. meltano config tap-dbt test

Next steps

If you run into any issues, learn how to get help.

Capabilities

The current capabilities for tap-dbt may have been automatically set when originally added to the Hub. Please review the capabilities when using this extractor. If you find they are out of date, please consider updating them by making a pull request to the YAML file that defines the capabilities for this extractor.

This plugin has the following capabilities:

  • catalog
  • state
  • discover
  • about
  • stream-maps
  • schema-flattening

You can override these capabilities or specify additional ones in your meltano.yml by adding the capabilities key.

Settings

The tap-dbt settings that are known to Meltano are documented below. To quickly find the setting you're looking for, click on any setting name from the list:

You can override these settings or specify additional ones in your meltano.yml by adding the settings key.

Please consider adding any settings you have defined locally to this definition on MeltanoHub by making a pull request to the YAML file that defines the settings for this plugin.

Api Key (api_key)

  • Environment variable: TAP_DBT_API_KEY

API key for the dbt Cloud API

Account Ids (account_ids)

  • Environment variable: TAP_DBT_ACCOUNT_IDS

dbt Cloud account IDs

Base Url (base_url)

  • Environment variable: TAP_DBT_BASE_URL

Base URL for the dbt Cloud API

User Agent (user_agent)

  • Environment variable: TAP_DBT_USER_AGENT

User-Agent to make requests with

Stream Maps (stream_maps)

  • Environment variable: TAP_DBT_STREAM_MAPS

Config object for stream maps capability. For more information check out Stream Maps.

Stream Map Config (stream_map_config)

  • Environment variable: TAP_DBT_STREAM_MAP_CONFIG

User-defined config values to be used within map expressions.

Flattening Enabled (flattening_enabled)

  • Environment variable: TAP_DBT_FLATTENING_ENABLED

'True' to enable schema flattening and automatically expand nested properties.

Flattening Max Depth (flattening_max_depth)

  • Environment variable: TAP_DBT_FLATTENING_MAX_DEPTH

The max depth to flatten schemas.

Something missing?

This page is generated from a YAML file that you can contribute changes to.

Edit it on GitHub!

Looking for help?

If you're having trouble getting the tap-dbt extractor to work, look for an existing issue in its repository, file a new issue, or join the Meltano Slack community and ask for help in the
#plugins-general
channel.

Install

meltano add extractor tap-dbt

Maintenance Status

  • Maintenance Status
  • Built with the Meltano SDK
  • Stars
  • Forks
  • Open Issues
  • Open PRs
  • Contributors
  • License

Maintainer

  • Meltano Community

Meltano Stats

  • Total Executions (Last 3 Months)
  • Projects (Last 3 Months)

Keywords

  • apimeltano_sdk